The Linguasphere Register

of the world’s languages and speech communities

The linguascale

Change sector or zone

Geosector 0= AFRICA

Phylosector 1= AFRO-ASIAN

Geosector 2= AUSTRALASIA

Phylosector 3= AUSTRONESIAN

Geosector 4= EURASIA

Phylosector 5= INDO-EUROPEAN

Geosector 6= NORTH-AMERICA

Phylosector 7= SINO-INDIAN

Geosector 8= SOUTH-AMERICA

Phylosector 9= TRANSAFRICAN

Geosector 2= AUSTRALASIA



Covers the "Arafura + Torres" reference area (within the "Trans-New Guinea" hypothesis).

Comprising 26 sets of languages (= 104 outer languages) spoken by communities in Australasia, centered around the Arafura Sea, on the Alor, Timor, Leti, Maluku, Southern New Guinea (Vogelkop Peninsula to Gulf of Papua) and Torres Strait islands.

SPIP | Sign In | Site Map | Follow-up of the site's activity RSS 2.0