The Linguasphere Register

of the world’s languages and speech communities

The linguascale

Change sector or zone

Geosector 0= AFRICA

Phylosector 1= AFRO-ASIAN

Geosector 2= AUSTRALASIA

Phylosector 3= AUSTRONESIAN

Geosector 4= EURASIA

Phylosector 5= INDO-EUROPEAN

Geosector 6= NORTH-AMERICA

Phylosector 7= SINO-INDIAN

Geosector 8= SOUTH-AMERICA

Phylosector 9= TRANSAFRICAN

Geosector 2= AUSTRALASIA



Covers the "East New-Guinea + Solomons" reference area, within the wider reference area of the "Papuan" hypotheses.

Comprising 26 sets of languages (101 outer languages) spoken by communities in Australasia, centered on the Bismarck Sea and Archipelago, extending from Eastern New Guinea through New Britain, New Ireland and the North Solomon islands (all part of Papua New Guinea) to the Solomon Islands.

SPIP | Sign In | Site Map | Follow-up of the site's activity RSS 2.0